Things that people have said to me when they learned I have diabetes:
*How’d you get it?
*I’m so sorry (usually accompanied by a look of great distress).
*(*gasp*)
*From eating sugar, right?
*So you can only eat bland food?
*It’s diabetes, not cancer.
*My (fill in the blank) has diabetes. She/he has (fill in the terrible complication) OR She/he is dead/dying.
*Oh, my. (usually accompanied by a look of horror or pity)
*Are you okay?
*Are you sure?
*I’m a nurse/doctor/EMT.
*You’re too old/young.
*Like Mary Tyler Moore/Steel Magnolias?

Things that I wish people had said to me when they learned I have diabetes:
*Kick ass!
*Wow, but you’re a girl!
*Should I wash my hands?
*My houseplant has diabetes, too. I totally get it.
*No you don’t.
*Are you contagious?
*I’m so jealous!
*Give me some.

Telling people is an ordeal. At least then I would have gotten a laugh out of it.

