MileMasterSarah had a great post today about compensating for the restrictions in our diet, and eating in a way that leaves us diabetics both satiated and satisfied. And I won’t lie; it’s hard for me to do.

She posted five power foods that help her accomplish her goals in this department, and they sounded great. I’m excited about implementing the suggestions she had that aren’t already in my repertoire, and I’ve decided to post a few of mine.

These are some of the foods that help me feel more normal:

1. Berries and cream.

YUM. Berries are low on the glycemic index, making them diabetic friendly, and now, thanks to modern chemical processes which I probably don’t want to know about, you can find whipped cream in low-and no-fat varieties, courtesy of Reddi-Whip. Eating fresh berries and cream is synonymous to ice cream, at least to my taste buds, and you get a dessert that has a small impact on blood glucose, is high in natural fibers, vitamins, bioflavonoids, and other wonderful things.

2. Sweet salads.

Having a salad with a sweet dressing, or with caramelized pecans throughout, helps me feel like I’m getting a sugary treat without all the sugar. My favorite salad recipes:

Spring / Summer:
Lettuce
Mandarin oranges
Carmelized pecans
Blue cheese
Red onion
A dressing of 1/2 Brianna’s Poppyseed dressing, 1/2 Tropicana Orange Juice (cutting this dressing like this makes it much thinner, and reduces both the fat and the amount of dressing you actually end up eating. Plus, it tastes better and fresher.)

Fall / Winter:
Lettuce
Dried Cranberries
Blue Cheese
Green Onions
Chopped Walnuts
A dressing of 1 part maple syrup (real is better, but not necessary), 1 part rice wine vinegar, and about 2 teaspoons per half cup cinnamon. This dressing is WAY better than it sounds, I promise.

3. Egg dishes.
Frittata, Quiche, and “Puffs” all have that wonderful, comfort food flavor without the comfort food carbs. I love them. Especially on rainy, slow days when all you want to do is stay inside and nibble on things.

4. Garlic Sauce.
Garlic sauce turns ordinary veggies into something that I want to eat cold, right out of the fridge. And that’s not really an easy feat, as, though I do love four or five of the requisite green vegetables, I would be lying if I said, given an unlimited choice of foods, I would choose them first. Here’s the secret recipe:

Garlic changes chemically when it’s mixed with salt, growing less spicy and more mellow/delicious/flavorful.
Press garlic, a lot. Maybe 8 big cloves.
Mix the pressed garlic with salt, at a ratio of 1 tablespoon of garlic to 1 teaspoon of salt, mash it up a little with a spoon, and let it sit for about 30 minutes. When you come back to look at it, you’ll notice that the garlic looks really wet, and smears into a paste easily. The magic is done!
To make the sauce, just mix about a tablespoon of your paste with about a 1/4 cup of olive oil, and toss with steamed veggies. Green beans are my favorite. You can also use the paste as a rub for grilled meat, and mix it with olive oil for a garlic bread drizzle.

5. Truffles.
Sometimes you just want a treat. Mine is truffles. At usually about 8g of carb for 3, I get more than I’d want to eat (after all, they’re very rich… one is usually plenty) for a little tiny bolus. And sometimes, I just need the ability to treat myself.

I would love to hear about the food coping mechanisms of some of the rest of you!

