Diabetic comfort food seems to be an oxymoron. Without carbs, how can comfort food exist? Isn’t the point of it to eat something warm and filling and hideously bad for you, made mostly of sugar, or at least white flour and lard? I was diagnosed pretty late in the game at 23, and though I am deeply grateful for every second I lived without diabetes, eating whatever I wanted for twenty-three years was a hard habit to break. What was hardest, I think, was not being able to indulge in the (very) occasional, eaten-because-it-feels-good-to-eat-it comfort food extravaganza.

So, never one to sit around feeling sorry for myself for (too terribly) long, and always having a love of all things culinary, I made my own diabetic comfort food. This recipe is easy to the point of being foolproof, warm, delicious, and only 10g or so of carbs per serving (1/8 of the recipe). Plus, those carbs, while coming mostly from the white flour in the Bisquick, are nicely tempered by the protein and fat in the eggs and cheese. Give it a try, I promise you won’t be sorry. And, for you vegetable haters out there, it doesn’t taste anything like zucchini.

Zucchini Frittata

3 cups grated zucchini
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup Bisquick mix
2/3 cup grated cheddar cheese
4 eggs
½ cup vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle or cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon salt

Now for the tricky part….

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and pour them into a pie plate. Don’t forget the Pam.
Bake @ 350 degrees for 45 minutes, or until a knife into the center comes out clean.

If you have any favorite comfort food recipes to share, please do! I love trying new things!
Thanks to my friend Kate for this picture she took of my recipe…

