Well, day two wasn’t as awesome as day 1, and it was my fault. I actually started this diet at lunch on Friday, so it’s really been 2 and a half days. Both yesterday and the day before I’ve gone to bed and felt my BG dropping in that oh-crap-where’s-the-juice sort of way. Lovely. So last night I lowered my overnight basals by .2u/h…… and woke up at 210. Not the end of the world, but the exact thing that I was hoping this new plan would alleviate. Guess I’ll be rethinking that basal change.

I also have been doing 20 minutes of yoga every night right before bed. I know, I know, horrible idea. It’s just the one time in the day when I’m ready and able and have great BG….. but I guess I learned my lesson and I’ll be doing it some other time from now on.

Anyway, the food thing is going fine. I learned that cucumber slices are a nice substitute for crackers when a person wants cheese and crackers, and also that if you slice your leftover baked chicken into little slices and drizzle it with a tiny bit of olive oil, it stays absolutely as delicious as on day 1 when you microwave it.

We also decided to change the diet a bit, and add in 1/4 cup of dark berries per day, but keep the same daily carbs. Dark fruits and berries are unique in that something (what exactly is still unknown) in the dark blue pigment helps with brain function. And my brain needs help. Since you can’t really find the pigments in other places, we’re adding ’em!

Dinner was fine… 2 tiny cheeseburgers without the bun, a salad of baby spinach, blueberries, blue cheese, green onions, and homemade dressing, and more squash.

Some of the suggestions that the book makes for meals are insane. For example, an omelet with Toasted Marshmallow DaVinci Syrup swirled in? Or how about a bran cracker covered in cream as a sub for cereal? I haven’t tried either, but I’m inclined to think I might be just fine NOT trying them…..

