I’m often surprised that there aren’t more modern artists dealing with disease, especially since current figurative art is developing an almost medical fascination with the body.

Images resonate with me in a way that other things don’t. I can look at a painting and be moved, truly moved, and though I won’t necessarily know what the artist’s ideology or intention was, I bring my own life experiences to an image, and form my own meaning. In that way I feel a connection, and less isolated. In that way I am given a sense of wonder, and a great appreciation for the universal truths that come with a human body; the truths of suffering and love, of hurt and joy. In that way I am reminded of what is bigger than I am.

Though I don’t know of any art about diabetes specifically, there are artists who speak of the themes of diabetes, and whose work is to me a representation of what it is like to live with a body that is not whole.

THESE ARE GRAPHIC IMAGES (nudity, violence), don’t click unless you’re okay with that.

Kiki Smith, an incredible artist and feminist:
1
2
3

Jenny Saville, who explores gender and a deep discomfort with physical bodies, whether the by the viewer or the subject:
1
2
3
4

Marlene Dumas, a South African artist currently living in Amsterdam whose works about apartheid and sex industry workers aptly and poignantly convey what it means to be outside of normal:
1

Some of the images here are hard to look at, but they all convey a beauty to me. The beauty of expression, of shared experiences, and of manifested emotion that holds truths bigger than one person.

