I’m beginning to work up a plan and sketches for my next art project, a series of etchings: portraits of peace leaders and activists. I have several names in mind. I’m really excited about the project for several reasons…. primarily, the opportunity for portraiture without a need to cleave too closely to the desires of the subject in how these are rendered; an opportunity to celebrate individuals who have, at least with part of their lives, made significant and beneficial changes in our human history; and a chance to celebrate the whole of these people, their flaws, their strengths, their passions and failures and deep seated beliefs.

Some of the people I’m considering:
Aung San Suu Kyi
Mary Robinson
Mother Theresa
Rachel Carson
Dennis Banks
Cesar Chavez
Frederick Douglass

I’m starting with Aung San Suu Kyi and Mary Robinson, I think. And there are more, so many more than I could ever make or list. People who have made a difference in lives beyond their own.

Any recommendations? I’m gathering names and subjects and would be interested in hearing any opinions!

